SFF Releases | My December Picks


Alana Quick is the best damned sky surgeon in Heliodor City, but repairing starship engines barely pays the bills.
When the desperate crew of a cargo vessel stops by her shipyard looking for her spiritually-advanced sister Nova, Alana stows away. Maybe her boldness will land her a long-term gig on the crew. But the Tangled Axon proves to be more than star-watching and plasma coils. The chief engineer thinks he’s a wolf. The pilot fades in and out of existence. The captain is all blond hair, boots, and ego . . . and Alana can’t keep her eyes off her.
But there’s little time for romance: Nova’s in danger and someone will do anything—even destroying planets—to get their hands on her!
I've had this on my to-read list for a while, and so far reviews have been positive, so it's definitely one that I'd like to move up the stack and get to soon. I like the sound of Ascension, right up my street!


A conflict lasting thousands of years and spanning millions of light years comes to its shattering conclusion in the final book of the Ragnarok trilogy, perfect for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Alastair Reynolds.
From the leader of a Norse raiding party in 7th-century England to a young symbiotically bonded Pilot-and-Ship in the far future. From a female German scientist during the Second World War to a member of an alien race who communicates by smell. From the past to the future, war is coming. And only a few can see the darkness.
Hidden at the centre of the Universe, the darkness spreads its tendrils throughout space and time. Those it touches become puppets, dedicated to slowing down the improvement of the human race and preventing it from reaching its true potential. For the darkness knows that when it makes its final invasion of our space, humanity will stand against it.
And in the far far future, knowing that they are the last hope for the galaxy, the Ragnarok council is forming...
I've had my eye on the Ragnarok series for a while, and now with the release of the concluding volume I'm hoping to finally get around to them. Christmas reading perhaps?!


Just like on Earth, the Galaxy can sometimes seem to be a boring place. But then things start happening, problems get larger, life gets interesting, and you wonder when you'll get to relax again.
In The Broken Fleet, Earth becomes the refuge of a strange race of humans fleeing their enemies. They recruit warriors from Earth, and in return bring Earth abruptly in to the affairs of the galaxy.
If you like science in your science-fiction, characters you can care about, and entertaining things to happen to them, enjoy this new flavor of classic adventure writing in The Broken Fleet.
This is another novel that I found by browsing online and swiftly added to my-to-buy list (which seems to be way too big at the moment!). It sounds good and I'm hoping it can deliver.

Bibliotropic  – (4 December 2013 20:42)  

I hear Koyanagi's book is pretty good. I haven't read it yet, though.

Post a Comment

  © Blogger template Shush by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP