Treecat Wars by David Weber and Jane Lindskold

Set in the same universe as Weber’s Honor Harington series, Treecat Wars is the third novel in the prequel Star Kingdom series, one which is being co-written by Jane Lindskold. This series is aimed straight at the YA market, and focuses on a teenage Stephanie Harrington and the events following her discovery of the treecats on the planet of Sphinx. The first novel in this series, A Beautiful Friendship, was a massive hit for me, setting everything up nicely and delivering a thoroughly enjoyable read. Fire Season didn’t manage to meet the lofty expectations I had, and ultimately fell flat on many fronts. It was with great trepidation that I picked up Treecat Wars, and I was pleasantly surprised with what I found with its pages. Continue reading “Treecat Wars by David Weber and Jane Lindskold”

Fire Season by David Weber and Jane Lindskold

Fire Season is the second Stephanie Harrington novel, the new YA series from David Weber. I thoroughly enjoyed A Beautiful Friendship, so reading Fire Season was a no-brainer. I knew that Jane Lindskold was on board for co-writing duties, and I questioned how this would effect the novel, and how different it could be in tone and style to A Beautiful Friendship. Turns out the answer wasn’t what I hoped for, and Fire Season marked a change in both style and storytelling. Continue reading “Fire Season by David Weber and Jane Lindskold”

A Beautiful Friendship by David Weber

I’ve read a fair amount of David Weber’s stuff this year set in his Honorverse and following Honor Harrington, the heroine of the main series. Now we have the release of A Beautiful Friendship, the first in a new prequel teen series that focuses on one of Honor’s ancestors, Stephanie Harrington. I’d heard about this a while back, but I hadn’t read any of the Honorverse books at that time so I didn’t pay it much attention. A bit of a mistake! Once I knew how much I enjoyed Weber’s novels I got my order in for this straight away. My only real concern was whether or not I would be able to fully enjoy it knowing that it’s the latest book written in such a large setting despite the prequel nature of the story. As is usually the case when I have these concerns there was no need at all. In fact, this is just about the perfect starting point… Continue reading “A Beautiful Friendship by David Weber”

Field of Dishonor by David Weber

Field of Dishonor is the fourth Honor Harrington novel, following on from On Basilisk Station, The Honor of the Queen and The Short Victorious War. I have been thoroughly enjoying these books (as you can see from my previous reviews) and I’ve got to the point where I am actively looking to read an Honor Harrington book before other ones I have sitting on the reading stack at home. That’s quite a statement as far as I’m concerned, especially looking at some of the other books waiting to be read! Continue reading “Field of Dishonor by David Weber”

The Short Victorious War by David Weber

Here I am on to the third book in the Honor Harrington Series, The Short Victorious War. The first two books, On Basilisk Station and The Honor of the Queen, were instant favourites of mine and made the series (one that runs to over 20 volumes including the anthologies and spin-offs) a must-read for me. David Weber had created a vivid and thoroughly realised setting and I was wondering how events would play out in this third offering, hoping they would live up to my expectations… Continue reading “The Short Victorious War by David Weber”

The Honor of the Queen by David Weber

The Honor of the Queen is the second book by David Weber featuring Honor Harrington, Captain in Her Majesty’s Royal Navy of Manticore. The first book, On Basilisk Station, was one I very much enjoyed when I read it a few months ago and with the series running to over a dozen books to date, plus side novels, I was very interested to see where the story would go from the end on that first novel. I’ve made the mistake in the past of letting more time than optimal pass between series instalments, especially those that are already in the shops, and it was not a mistake I planned to do with the Honorverse. Thankfully so too, On Basilisk Station was fresh enough in my mind for me to thoroughly get drawn in with the characters once again! Continue reading “The Honor of the Queen by David Weber”

On Basilisk Station by David Weber

On Basilisk Station is the first book in the Honor Harrington series, a series set in the ‘Honorverse’ that currently runs to over a dozen books that include the main series, spin off series and short collections, as well as a forthcoming young adult novel. David Weber is the author behind these books and writes at an astonishing pace. I’ve had On Basilisk Station sitting on my to-read stack for a while but after attending Eastercon in April and hearing Weber talk so enthusiastically about everything, and the fact that he came across as such a genuinely nice guy, I really wanted to read one of his books, and this was the one I choose. Continue reading “On Basilisk Station by David Weber”

Out of the Dark by David Weber

The Galactic Hegemony has been around a long time, and it likes stability–the kind of stability that member species like the aggressive, carnivorous Shongairi tend to disturb. So when the Hegemony Survey Force encountered a world whose so-called “sentients”—”humans,” they called themselves—were almost as bad as the Shongairi themselves, it seemed reasonable to use the Shongairi to neutralize them before they could become a second threat to galactic peace. And if the Shongairi took a few knocks in the process, all the better.

Now, Earth is conquered. The Shongairi have arrived in force, and humanity’s cities lie in radioactive ruins. In mere minutes, more than half the human race has died.

Master Sergeant Stephen Buchevsky, who thought he was being rotated home from his latest tour in Afghanistan, finds himself instead prowling the back country of the Balkans, dodging alien patrols and trying to organize scattered survivors without getting killed. And in the southeastern US, firearms instructor and former Marine Dave Dvorak finds himself at the center of a growing network of resistance—putting his extended family at lethal risk, but what else can you do?

On the face of it, Buchevsky’s and Dvorak’s chances look bleak, as do prospects for the rest of the surviving human race. But it may well be that Shongairi and the Hegemony alike have underestimated the inhabitants of that strange planet called Earth… Continue reading “Out of the Dark by David Weber”