The Oncoming Storm by Christopher Nuttall

The Oncoming Storm by Christopher Nuttall is the first book in his new Angel in the Whirlwind series. A well-known self-published author of many books, this is his first step into traditional publishing through Amazon’s 47North imprint. While I’ve not had the pleasure of picking up any of Nuttall’s previous novels, The Oncoming Storm certainly makes him an author that I plan to revisit. Continue reading “The Oncoming Storm by Christopher Nuttall”

40 Years by Bernd Struben

You know, there are often times when I get a book through the post, one I’ve not heard of before, and think – shall I or shan’t I? This was the case with 40 Years by Bernd Struben from Strider Nolan Media. The cover didn’t really appeal to me and pique my interest that much, but reading the blurb did. It sounded like the sort of book I would enjoy and I instantly thought of John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War books, a series I’ve enjoyed immensely. 40 Years is also a fairly short novel, standing at just shy of 200 pages, so when I browsed my to-read stack this stood out as one I should try – I wasn’t going to lose much by giving it a shot. I can honestly say that I was so glad I did decide to pick it up – it’s a quick read that packs so much into it’s pages and left me wanting more! Continue reading “40 Years by Bernd Struben”

Leviathan by Jack Campbell

leviathan-ukI’m a huge Lost Fleet fan, so the release of Leviathan was right up there with my most anticipated books of the year. Did it deliver what I wanted? Well, my full review is up at SFFWorld for your reading pleasure!

Leviathan is the latest novel by Jack Campbell in his popular Lost Fleet setting, with this one being the fifth novel in the Beyond The Frontier series. Focusing once again on the exploits of Admiral John ‘Black Jack’ Geary, his flagship, Dauntless, and its captain (and Geary’s wife) Tanya Desjani, plus the ships and captains of all the Alliance First Fleet, it’s easy to say one thing: if you’ve not read the previous Beyond The Frontier novels, this really isn’t the place to jump in. If, like me, you’ve been keeping up with Campbell’s output, then what you’ll find in Leviathan is an interesting novel, one that returns the quality of the series to expectations, and one that resolves the much of what Steadfast, the previous novel, spent time in setting up.

We also get to see more of the Dancer aliens in Leviathan, and it leads to a big step forward in communications between them and humanity. It’s interesting to finally hear more in-depth knowledge from them, and to see just how far behind humanity is in their understanding of interstellar travel. It’s nice to see an alien species being developed like this, and I hope that this isn’t the last we’ll see of them.

Guardian by Jack Campbell

A new Lost Fleet novel is becoming a regular occurrence and, much like my birthday and Christmas, I look forward to the annual event and wonder what it will bring each year. With Guardian I didn’t expect anything massively different from the last installment, but questioned whether Campbell would introduce something new and different, and eager to see where he’s going with the plot threads he has in motion. Continue reading “Guardian by Jack Campbell”

Invincible by Jack Campbell

Another Lost Fleet book by Jack Campbell? Oh, go on then!

I think it’s fair to say that I’m a fan of The Lost Fleet series of novels, and whenever a new volume is announced it’s swiftly added to my wish list. Invincible is the second in the Beyond the Frontier saga, following on from the initial six book series, and picking up events immediately after the ending of Dreadnaught, and manages to add much more to the setting than I initially thought it would do. Continue reading “Invincible by Jack Campbell”

Field of Dishonor by David Weber

Field of Dishonor is the fourth Honor Harrington novel, following on from On Basilisk Station, The Honor of the Queen and The Short Victorious War. I have been thoroughly enjoying these books (as you can see from my previous reviews) and I’ve got to the point where I am actively looking to read an Honor Harrington book before other ones I have sitting on the reading stack at home. That’s quite a statement as far as I’m concerned, especially looking at some of the other books waiting to be read! Continue reading “Field of Dishonor by David Weber”

The Short Victorious War by David Weber

Here I am on to the third book in the Honor Harrington Series, The Short Victorious War. The first two books, On Basilisk Station and The Honor of the Queen, were instant favourites of mine and made the series (one that runs to over 20 volumes including the anthologies and spin-offs) a must-read for me. David Weber had created a vivid and thoroughly realised setting and I was wondering how events would play out in this third offering, hoping they would live up to my expectations… Continue reading “The Short Victorious War by David Weber”

The Honor of the Queen by David Weber

The Honor of the Queen is the second book by David Weber featuring Honor Harrington, Captain in Her Majesty’s Royal Navy of Manticore. The first book, On Basilisk Station, was one I very much enjoyed when I read it a few months ago and with the series running to over a dozen books to date, plus side novels, I was very interested to see where the story would go from the end on that first novel. I’ve made the mistake in the past of letting more time than optimal pass between series instalments, especially those that are already in the shops, and it was not a mistake I planned to do with the Honorverse. Thankfully so too, On Basilisk Station was fresh enough in my mind for me to thoroughly get drawn in with the characters once again! Continue reading “The Honor of the Queen by David Weber”

Dreadnaught by Jack Campbell

The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier: Dreadnaught (or simply Dreadnaught as I will refer to it from now on!) is the new book in Jack Campbell’s Lost Fleet setting, although this book kicks off a new trilogy set after the events of the original six book series. To say that this book was a highly anticipated release would be a gross understatement, I imported it as soon as I could and cracked it open and plowed through it in barely a few days. I’m a huge fan of the series and I thoroughly enjoyed Dreadnaught, despite the few little problems I had with it. Continue reading “Dreadnaught by Jack Campbell”

On Basilisk Station by David Weber

On Basilisk Station is the first book in the Honor Harrington series, a series set in the ‘Honorverse’ that currently runs to over a dozen books that include the main series, spin off series and short collections, as well as a forthcoming young adult novel. David Weber is the author behind these books and writes at an astonishing pace. I’ve had On Basilisk Station sitting on my to-read stack for a while but after attending Eastercon in April and hearing Weber talk so enthusiastically about everything, and the fact that he came across as such a genuinely nice guy, I really wanted to read one of his books, and this was the one I choose. Continue reading “On Basilisk Station by David Weber”